Posted by: Colleen | March 8, 2011

What We’ve Been Reading #8

I am a big believer in encouraging kids to read. For my baby shower, I asked guests to bring a book along with whatever else they were going to bring, his Grandma P signed him up for a Dr. Seuss book club, AND my co-workers got him more books at my surprise work baby shower. The Munchkin has quite the little library going in his nursery!

I feel bad, but we haven’t been reading a lot lately. With all of the hustle and bustle as of late, and all of the sickness before, reading hasn’t been too high on the list of things to do… But, here are the books we’ve read since last time:

  • “Miss Melody Kitty’s Daydream Adventures” by Dianne Eason (ISBN #978-0-9840573-0-6) *review for this below*
  • “Bambi Grows Up” from Disney’s Wonderful World of Reading (ISBN #0-394-84235-9)
  • “Go, Dog. Go!” by P.D. Eastman (ISBN #978-0-394-80020-2)
  • Some of “Happy Baby Palabras (Words)” by Roger Priddy (ISBN #978-0-618-53822-5) – Ok, so maybe I just read the English words… I don’t know how to say the Spanish ones.

Spirit-Led Designs sent a copy of Miss Melody Kitty’s Daydream Adventure to review for the site. It is a story about a kitty who likes to daydream and help others. The Munchkin loved the bright colors of the pictures, and preferred to hold it himself than have me read it to him, lol.

I think this book would be good for older kids, as the story was a little long for The Munchkin’s 8 month old brain. 😉 I was able to read it to him in three parts though.

The illustrator was nice enough to sign the book and write me a little message! 🙂 It also came with a cure memory matching game too, which I’m sure The Munchkin will have fun with when he’s older.

End rating: 3.5 out of 5 hearts!
Overall, I think the book was good. The story was a little long for my little man, but I think it would be enjoyable for older children. The matching game it came with is cute, and I like that there is an ipad app for the book too, so neat! I don’t have an ipad, so I don’t know how the app is, but I haven’t heard of many books having a corresponding app, have you? This book will be added to our book rotation, as The Munchkin loves the colors and illustrations.

Spirit-Led Designs may have sent me the book to keep in exchange for this review, but all opinions are my own, and I was not otherwise compensated for them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

