Posted by: Colleen | January 4, 2011

Bumming Around

Hello! The plague has cleared up for the most part. The Munchkin developed an ear infection and has to take meds for it, but is taking them like a champ. Anything you stick in that kid’s mouth he’s cool with, which is pretty handy. Besides the “fruit flavored” medicine (I got some on my hand…it does NOT taste like fruit.) he has been trying new foods. So far, The Munchkin has consumed:

  • Rice cereal
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Green beans (the only one so far he was just “meh” about)
  • Prunes

Not too bad. His doctor told me to have him stick to just a few kinds of food, so that if he had a reaction, we’d know what caused it, but how do you keep his diet balanced then? Is it something that I don’t have to worry about yet? So far, we’ve been doing one food for a couple days and then moving onto something else. Is a couple days long enough for a reaction to happen? I would think so, but what do I know.

Haha, this post was not originally going to be about baby food. I was going to write about the plague being mostly gone, and how I’m updating my twitter (@retrokitty) again at work, and how I’ve been distracted by social media & commenting on blogs, and that is why I haven’t posted. Normally I’m not much of a blog commenter, but I have decided to try and be more social. Now, I just have to find a balance.

The other thing I was going to say is how I’m really tired today because The Munchkin woke up early (30 min before my alarm was supposed to go off, grr.) and I just feel like going to sleep. Instead, I’m waiting for John to sign onto gmail and drinking apple cider from the carton. Keeping it classy!

Daycare Notes:

  • Food: Rice cereal (breakfast) & prunes (lunch)
  • Bottles: 9:30 (2oz), 10:30 (2oz), 1:00 (4oz), 2:35 (4oz), 3:55 (4oz)
  • Naps from 9:30 – 10:00 & 2:45 – 3:05
  • Diapers: 8:50 (w), 11:00 (w), 12:15 (w), 3:05 (w), 5:25 (bm)
  • Comments: “The Munchkin loved the prunes! Have a good night!”
Responses

  1. My son is about your son’s age, I think, and I have some of the same questions. I think our pediatrician said add one new food every week, but I’ve also seen 3-4 days recommended (online). I keep looking for sample menus for babies his age, because I have no idea how to plan his meals, you know? I found one from the AAP for 8-12 months, but we can’t use that one yet (http://bit.ly/hsQbzq). My son’s only on two meals of solids a day right now, and I think we’ll up it to three soon. I have searched and searched online, and most of what I found is just discussion board stuff, not reputable sources like the AAP… The nurse practitioner said yesterday that as long as he has three wet diapers a day, he’s getting enough? I just want a book to tell me exactly what to feed him and when! 🙂

    • His daycare has been feeding him rice cereal at breakfast, fruit at lunch, and I generally feed him veggies at dinner. With that being said, he’s still eating about 7 bottles a day. I talked to his doctor at his last appointment, and she concurred with what your nurse practitioner said – as long as he’s drinking enough, he should be fine. 😀

      Ooooh Moms of Rochester (your site) looks cool! I’m going to check it out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

