Posted by: Colleen | November 16, 2010

Little Grabby Hands

Today, The Munchkin’s attention was anywhere but on me. Normally, this means that he is tired, but tonight, he wanted to touch everything; my edamame, Kipp, the laptop, his empty bottle, EVERYTHING. At one point, he grabbed one of my edamame shells (?) and slowly put it a little in his mouth. I was watching him do it, and it was kind of funny, because before he did that, he was watching the edemame go from the bag to my mouth and then into the bowl I was putting the shells in like it was some amazing thing. So can 4.5 month olds imitate people? I think that’s what he was doing.

It is days like today that I’m so so glad that Kipp is such an awesome dog. The Munchkin would put his hands on her, and grasp her hair & skin in his little hand, and she just sat there and took it. I even kept moving The Munchkin closer, so he could pet her on the head, and all Kipp did was lick his hand. Good puppy.

I don’t know if The Munchkin was excited about all the cool stuff he was touching, but that kid did NOT want to go to bed. I would put him in his crib sleepy, and eventually he would babble himself to sleep. I say babble because that’s what he was doing; not crying. As soon as his almost-practically-asleep little head would touch the crib mattress, the eyes would fly open and the eyebrows would push together. I’d still leave, and he’s ask why. Over and over and over, but like I said, eventually he’d fall asleep…for 15 minutes.

It was funny at first because it was like he woke up when he realized that Glee was on, but by the time 11pm strolled around, I was like OMG KID GO TO SLEEP. I didn’t watch Conan (thank goodness for TiVo!) and we played with the exersaucer instead. By 11:30 though, he was rubbing his eyes again and finally stayed asleep when I put him in the crib. No flying open eyes or anything. Whew!

Stephanie Notes:

  • Bottles: 8:51 (3oz), 11:30 (1oz), 12:10 (3oz over 30min), 4:04 (2oz), 5:40 (3oz)
  • Naps from 11:37-12:00 & 12:50-2:15
  • Diapers: 8:40 (w), 11:11 (w), 2:17 (bm), 3:40 (w), 5:20 (w)
  • Tummy time: 4 sessions
  • Neck stretches: 2 sessions
Leave a Reply

Categories

